The Great Vs. Resolution: Introduction

This past New Year’s I decided I wanted to make a New Year’s Resolution for once. However, I didn’t want to make a boring one like everything else. So, I went ahead and made one based on Vs. System.

What I did was lay down a challenge for myself. That challenge was to use MWS to build a deck for every single affiliation in Vs. System, play the deck, and then blog about it. By my count, there are 57 affiliations in Vs. System if one counts the unaffiliated. That alone is a challenge to build and play (needing a deck every week) but I’ve decided I want to make it even more fun by adding a few other guidelines.

Here are the rules that the decks for this challenge must abide by:

1. All character cards must have the affiliation for the deck printed on them. (AKA Mono decks only)

2. At least 50% of the non-character cards must be team-stamped or character-stamped to a character that has the printed affiliation.

3. All cards must be of the same universe as the affiliation of the deck (X-Men deck can only have Marvel cards, etc.)

4. All decks must be legal in the most recent format possible as of the time of the building (Teen Titans or Underworld must be Modern Legal since they are featured in Modern Legal decks, Sentinels or New Gods must be Golden Legal)

Written Unwritten Rule. Decks should be as thematic as possible and should use at least one of the affiliation’s primary themes.

If anyone would like to join me, let me know and we can trade notes or something :D.I have already started building decks although I haven’t been able to play many of them. If you ever see me on MWS (remember, username on there is Grievous) and I ask to play GA, remember this challenge. I won’t be building anything broken, I won’t be netdecking, so there is no need to fear if I ask for GA. You’ll also be helping me complete my challenge which should make you all warm and fuzzy inside.

With that all said and done, let the challenge begin!

6 Responses to “The Great Vs. Resolution: Introduction”

  1. Amazing incredible earthshattering stuff. I will check in on your progress often.

    I know you can do it!

  2. kaleeshwarrior Says:

    Thanks for the vote of confident, stu. I’m actually doing decently at the moment. Six decks built and most of them played at least once. The main issue is just keeping momentum going and keeping up on the articles.

    And thanks for the link as well. Will get you on mine as soon as I figure out how :).

  3. Just found this blog…excellent idea, I have a few casual-thematic deck ideas myself, and would be thrilled to participate in some way. How could I do that?

  4. kaleeshwarrior Says:

    Well, there are multiple ways. The easiest way would probably be to post the decklist in the comments section of a blog entry where they fit (for example, when I get around to Avengers you could post an Avengers decklist in there). If I think the deck can get its own listing, I’d happily either let you write up or myself write up a sort of “Alternate deck” blog posting for that team. That’d probably be easiest. Heck, if we ended up collaborating enough, I’d probably just go and make you a member of the blog which would let you edit it and post your own articles.

    Other ways would be for you to make a blog of your own (its really quite easy, we could even theoretically get this stretching across multiple blogs) or to e-mail me (if you’d want to do that, just let me know here in the comments since I already have your e-mail due to the comment box requirement).

    Let me know. Exciting to think of someone else joining me in the fun :).

  5. shamilton777 Says:

    Hey kaleesh! Great idea here. I’ve been fooling around with something like this. Mono is hardcore. Good luck, and Maybe I’ll throw some together too, and shoot them off to you…

    -shamilton777

  6. Even if I wanted to, I don’t think I’ll have enough time to devote to a blog of my own (for the entire first half of this year, at least)…plus, I don’t think I’m interesting enough to really do much with a blog if I made one.

    But I do have a few mono-team, fun, casual decks (I can’t recall exactly…probably up to half a dozen at the moment, if not more…I had planned out over a dozen to show my brother over winter break and didn’t get around to them all) in store at the moment, and would like nothing better than to fire them off to interested parties to see if they appeal to anyone else.

    Sorry for the run-on sentences, I’m just very interested and overtired all at the same time. I don’t mind emailing out the decklists for now, just let me know.

Leave a Reply

