The Great Vs. Resolution #5: Warbou— I mean, Marvel Defenders

Ah. Finally I return to the thing that brought me my claim to fame: the sheer idiocy of trying to build a mono-deck for each affiliation. I’ve taken WAY too much out of my time talking about how surprised I am at the site’s success and how I’m now finally getting my first physical Vs. cards (EA Armageddon is happy that he’s going to have some friends to hang out with) so it’s far past time to review my next affiliation.

If anyone is tuning in for the first time, here’s the rules:

All characters must share a printed affiliation, at least 50% of non-character cards must be team or character-stamped, remaining cards must be from the same universe as the affiliation for the deck, deck must be in as recent of a format as possible.

I built this deck right after I built my Illuminati deck. I wanted that deck to have its counterpart which is, of course, a deck based on the Hulk. Sadly, a World War Hulk-based deck won’t be playable until after Marvel Universe comes out. Poor Hulk started to cry when I told him that. He’s really quite the emotional lug. However, I was able to cheer the big guy up by reminding him that there’s already a way I can build a deck around him. Hulk has the Marvel Defenders to help him out and even though they aren’t a bunch of gladiatorial aliens, they still get the job done.

I added an extra rule to this deck. It’s a very special rule that came about due to the fact that this is the Illuminati’s rival deck. That rule was that I couldn’t use Doctor Strange as a character. It doesn’t really cripple the deck at all but I still figured I should stick with the theme. Despite this, the good Doctor still slipped his way into the deck. He just took on a different form.

Anyways, characters. Wong apparently got a little bit upset with Doctor Strange after catapulting poor Hulk into outer space so he quit and joined up with Big Green. The “mystical man-servant”, which is a title I am glad I do NOT share, is an excellent tutor to have around.

On two you’ve got Tania Belinskya <> Red Guardian. Normally, I’d be against putting anything that even smells of communism into my deck (long story) but Tania is a great, great card so prejudice was put aside. One quick activation off-initiative and your opponent has to get past a 5/4 brick wall on turn 2. Love it.

Turn 3 is the terrain of the Hellcat known as Patsy Walker. +2/+2 on activation and hidden to boot? How can you go wrong? Back-up drops are Sub-Mariner, King of Atlantis if you absolutely must bust some skulls and Hawkeye, Loud Mouth if you feel the need to go sharp-shooting your opponent’s lowdrops.

Now, turn 4 is everybody’s favorite card, Samantha Parrington <> Valkyrie, Chooser of the Slain. I love the version on this chick. Really, if your opponent has initiative, you’re pretty much choosing which one of your characters is gonna get targeted first by their attack so they can’t double attack. Brilliant naming by whoever does that at UDE. Backup drop is Richard Rider <> Nova. Out-of-combat stun is a great thing and Nova provides that.

Finally, on turn 5, the green man himself makes an appearance. Hulk looks so serene in the card art that it makes me shed a tear of happiness for him. Completely oblivious to the Illuminati trying to send him off planet, just letting the birds land on his shoulder. Seriously though, this guy with Samantha is excellent. This guy with Samantha, Red Warrior, and Hellcat is beautiful. 16/12 that can attack again as a 17/13? Sign me up! Then, when turn 7 rolls around and Hulk finally realizes what the Illuminati has in store, you have Brunnhilde <> Valkyrie, Barbara Norriss to fly in and make sure you don’t have to replace your 5-drop. Giving out free reinforcement and gaining invulnerability is a great thing.

Turn 6 is the realm of Wendell Vaughn <> Quasar, Protector of the Universe. Above average stats and can hand out a +4/+4 boost whenever target character attacks. Beautiful.

Finally, its the kill turn. On turn 7, the true rage of the Incredible Hulk is unleashed and if you have the initiative and drew halfway decently, you’ve got the game won.

Primary plot twists in this deck are Defenders Defend because +3 D. is always great, Banished to the Abyss since with all the exhaustion, its nice to get even more points for it, One-Man Rampage which lets you go ape even more with the Hulk man, and The Order which is broken in multiples. Then, there’s that guy who just has to go and stick his nose in despite the fact that he’s not wanted.

Who let him in?

I swear, I didn’t want to use this card but it is SO good. Free hidden! It protects Red Guardian and Samantha so they can stick around until late turns and really make hell break loose with The Hulk. It’s an absolutely beautiful effect and I loopholed it into the deck despite my “no Dr. Strange” rule because the actual card isn’t Strange. I love loopholes. 😀

Anyways, here’s the full deck:

Hulk Just Pretend These Guys Warbound!

Marvel Defenders

Modern Age

Characters:
4x Wong – Mystical Manservant

4x Tania Belinskya <> Red Guardian – Cold Warrior

4x Hellcat – Patsy Walker
2x Hawkeye – Loud Mouth
1x Sub-Mariner – King Of Atlantis

4x Samantha Parrington <> Valkyrie – Exiled
2x Richard Rider <> Nova – Xandarian Nova Corps

2x Brunnhilde <> Valkyrie – Barbara Norriss
2x Hulk – Strongest One There Is

3x Wendell Vaughn <> Quasar – Protector of the Universe

2x Hulk – Grumpy Green Goliath

Plot Twists:
4x Flying Kick
4x Mobilize
4x The Order
4x One-Man Rampage
4x Defenders Defend!
4x Banished to the Abyss
4x Astral Projection
2x The “B” Team

Basic idea is to curve all the stat builders through the deck and then smash face on 5 and 7 with Hulk. Mulligan condition is Wong, Tania, or Samantha. Oh, and a fistful of The Order is usually too good not to pass up. Preferred initiative is clearly odds. The deck just doesn’t run quite right without it.

Turn 5 is about where you start turning the game. That’s the best turn to use Astral Projection and send everyone but Hulk into hiding. Turn 7 is the primary kill turn. Use all your effects on Hulk and then use The Order. Substitute out Samantha for pretty much anyone else from 4-drop down if possible (since her effect only works the “next time” you attack, not X times you attack so its one time). Then, exhaust them all to Hulk. Rinse and repeat until out of The Order or until you have just one Marvel Defenders card in hand. Then, flip any Banished To The Abyss and target Hulk. Final step: Hulk Smash Three Times!!

I really, really love this deck. I don’t know how accurate it is to the Defenders but there is nothing more fun than pumping Hulk into the monster he is. One game where I was fortunate enough to draw perfectly and end up with my full curve plus three copies of The Order, I got Hulk up to 40+ attack. Opponent’s cannot recover from that. This deck is just fun.

Marvel Defenders (Modern) Ratings:

Deck Strength: 8 (Never lost with the deck out of the three or four games with it, just a lovely combolicious deck with a massive finisher)

Deck Theme: 6 or 10 (From a Defenders standpoint, where is Strange? Why is everything centered on The Hulk? The second question points at all builds, not just my own. From a Hulk standpoint, it makes perfect sense. Everyone just helps the Hulk out and he smashes the opponent into dust. Perfect.)

Ease of Use: 8 (It takes a bit of timing but this deck is really easy to do. Just explain to player: “Use effects on Hulk, attack opponent” and they should do fine.)

Fun Factor: 10 (One word: SMASH!)

Overall: 9 (I love this deck. Absolutely love it.)

Vs. System Affiliation Leaderboard

1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern)
2. Fantastic Four (Modern)
3. Teen Titans (Modern)
4. Emerald Enemies (Golden)

Yeah, I know. Technically Fantastic Four and MD/Hulk tied. However, I like Marvel Defenders slightly more. Mostly because I like Hulk and like seeing how huge I can get him. Easily one of my favorite decks ever.

Next Resolution deck will probably be someone from SA, just because I haven’t done a Silver deck yet. Then I’ll probably go back and do something from GA. I must apologize to gdaybloke since I will have to go back on my statement of Crime Lords by week 2. I don’t think I’ll have the time to build and play the deck. Definitely by the end of February, though. Definitely by February.

However, the next decklist to be posted on the blog will not be for the Resolution but will be my personal favorite jank deck I came up with recently. I actually got to play it against HomerJ from The Ring Has Chosen and he thought it was cool enough to ask me if he could talk about it on the podcast. I let him with the warning that I’d get the scoop on him and put it on the blog first. That should be posted tomorrow or the day after. I’m looking forward to it.

16 Responses to “The Great Vs. Resolution #5: Warbou— I mean, Marvel Defenders”

  1. gdaybloke Says:

    Ooh, something different to do with Defedners other than Moon Knight.dec…

  2. […] like some of the other Vs. “recipes”/affiliations) Vs. System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Fantastic Four (Modern) 3. Teen Titans (Modern) 4. Future Foes (Silver) 5. Emerald Enemies […]

  3. […] goof off, Alternate Breakthrough Squad is where it’s at.) Vs. System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Fantastic Four […]

  4. […] because of Hush’s KO effect. Definitely worth testing out.)Vs. System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Fantastic Four (Modern) 3. Squadron Supreme (Golden) 4. Arkham Inmates (Modern) 5. Teen Titans […]

  5. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Fantastic Four (Modern) 3. Squadron Supreme (Golden) 4. Arkham Inmates (Modern) 5. Teen Titans […]

  6. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Fantastic Four (Modern) 3. Anti-Matter (Golden) 4. Squadron Supreme (Golden) 5. Arkham Inmates […]

  7. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Team Superman (Modern Age) 3. Fantastic Four (Modern) 4. Anti-Matter (Golden) 5. Squadron […]

  8. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Team Superman (Modern Age) 3. Fantastic Four (Modern) 4. Anti-Matter (Golden) 5. Squadron […]

  9. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Team Superman (Modern Age) 3. Fantastic Four (Modern) 4. Anti-Matter (Golden) 5. Squadron […]

  10. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Team Superman (Modern Age) 3. Fantastic Four (Modern) 4. Anti-Matter (Golden) 5. Squadron […]

  11. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Team Superman (Modern Age) 3. Fantastic Four (Modern) 4. Anti-Matter (Golden) 5. Squadron […]

  12. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Team Superman (Modern Age) 3. Fantastic Four (Modern) 4. Anti-Matter (Golden) 5. Morlocks […]

  13. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Team Superman (Modern Age) 3. Fantastic Four (Modern) 4. Anti-Matter (Golden) 5. Morlocks […]

  14. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Team Superman (Modern Age) 3. Fantastic Four (Modern) 4. Anti-Matter (Golden) 5. Morlocks […]

  15. […] System Affiliation Leaderboard 1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern) 2. Team Superman (Modern Age) 3. Fantastic Four (Modern) 4. Anti-Matter (Golden) 5. Morlocks […]

  16. […] You may remember months back I built a certain deck based around Hulk for this Resolution. This Marvel Defenders deck immediately took the #1 spot of my favorite Resolution affiliations and has remained there since my […]

Leave a Reply

