The Great Vs. Resolution #12: The League of Assassins

I love ninjas. Ninjas are the coolest people on the face of the planet. If I could be a ninja, I would. According to the Nintendo Wii’s “Everybody Votes” Channel, America agrees that ninjas are cool. The statistics from that poll says that the people who like ninjas outnumber those who like pirates by a 2-to-1 margin.

Someone else likes ninjas. That person is the immortal Ra’s al Ghul. I’ve always sorta liked Ra’s ever since I first saw him on the Batman animated series all those years back. Back then I always liked the people that used swords. I still like people that use swords. Anyways, his whole gimmick sorta escaped me at first but is actually really cool now that I’m older and can appreciate it.

Ra’s is, for all intents and purposes, immortal. He just goes into his fountain of youth known as the Lazarus Pit and comes out clean as a whistle. The Pit has a cost, of course, and that is the user’s sanity. Ra’s hatred for human kind is incredible and makes him different than the other villains in the Batman Rogue Gallery since he’s the only one who really attacks humanity on a global scale.

In Vs. System, Ra’s al Ghul and his League of Assassins has a thing for locations. I’ve never particularly liked locations simply due to the fact that you are forced to row them and generally can’t have more than one copy in play at a time. However, the LoA has ways around this as can be seen in the Modern Age build that is after the jump.

Ninjas… on flying pirate ships? WTF?

League of Assassins

Modern Age

Characters:
4x Novice Assassin, Army

4x Hassim, Loyal Retainer

4x The Mad Dog, Rabid Killer
4x Ubu, Ra’s al Ghul’s Bodyguard

4x Merlyn, Direct Hit Man
2x Talia, Heir Apparent

4x Ra’s al Ghul, Demon’s Head Rising

3x Shrike, Boone

1x Nyssa Raatko, Maiden of Death
1x Lady Shiva, Master Assassin

1x Ra’s al Ghul, The Demon’s Head

Plot Twists:

4x Harsh Judgment
4x Demonfang
4x The Demon’s Head
2x Mobilize

Locations:

4x Mountain Stronghold, Non-Unique
4x Lazarus Pit, Non-Unique – Death’s Door
4x Flying Fortress
2x Plague Zone, Non-Unique

I’m going to be blunt right off the bat and say that I DON’T LIKE THIS DECK. I don’t hate it but its really bland. Because of this, I am going to fly through my descriptions. It’s going to look like I’m just phoning this in to get a blog post up but I want this team out of the way ASAP. They’re just SO bland.

Preferred initiatives is odds so you can use Ubu, Ra’s 5, and Shiva. Mulligan condition is a way to hit your three.

Novice Assassins: In there because I need a one-drop and they’re the only one that’s modern-legal. Absolute waste of space but I need to try and make sure to fulfill Ubu’s loyalty requirements.

Hassim: Pretty nasty if you hide him behind Ubu. A reusable attack pump that is generally equal to your resource count is good.

Ubu & Mad Dog: Ubu is preferred because he’s beefy and can protect Hassim, Merlyn, Ra’s off-init., and Shiva. Mad Dog is there if you can’t fulfill loyalty or your opponent is running swarm/has a nasty 2-drop.

Merlyn & Talia: Talia is a boring card that I don’t think I’ve ever played. Only there if you need options. Merlyn is utterly nasty. He’s occasionally a free card draw, if you have two Flying Fortresses then it frees up both to activate in one turn, and you can stun any opposing three-drop. Nice card.

Ra’s al Ghul, Demon’s Head Rising: Nasty card. Kills reinforcement, kills team-stamped combat tricks, simply not a nice dude. Also gives you access to Harsh Judgment which is ownage in multiple copies.

Shrike: This guy + the aforementioned Harsh Judgement = -X/-X to all opposing characters where X equals major damage. His power works both on and off initiative which is really useful.

Nyssa & Lady Shiva: Nyssa is like Mad Dog. If you can’t fulfill the loyalty, she’s there. If you CAN fulfill the loyalty, Shiva is the bomb. Free KOs are awesome.

Ra’s al Ghul, The Demon’s Head: Great card. “No reinforcement, no team-stamped cards, no team attack, no activation, Final Destination.” (Kudos to all that get the joke)

Plot Twists: Demonfang is actually quite good since its card draw and a offense/defense pump all in one. Harsh Judgment has been mentioned. The Demon’s Head is nasty with its location searching ability. Mobilize is a main stay in my decks. Seriously, go check. Every single one has it.

Locations: I absolutely love the new Lazarus Pit. Want an idea of how awesome it is? In a game, I was able to retain my full curve from turn one all the way into turn eight. Every single character I had played was on the board. Awesome. Flying Fortress is a smaller but reusable Flying Kick (seriously though, a pirate ship? Come on, Ra’s! Get with the times and realize your supposed to blow those sorta things out of the sky, not drive around in them). Mountain Stronghold is awesome search. Plague Zone is tech against hidden characters and can be really nice at times.

As I said before, I don’t particularly like this deck. It’s decently powerful, it has some nice cards, and I like Ra’s as a character. However, its just really boring to play. There is absolutely nothing exciting going on in the new LoA.

League of Assassins (Modern) Ratings:

Deck Strength: 7 (Meh. It can win but it isn’t that strong. I mean, there’s some decent synergy going on and free stuns/KOs are always nice but this deck is not going to win a massive amount of games.)

Deck Theme: 4 (Locations. Never really liked them. Replacing cards. Never really liked that either. The fact that besides that there is no theme to the League makes me dislike them even more. Bland and yuck.)

Ease of Use: 9 (I’ll give this deck exactly one thing: A person with two weeks experience could probably run it at peak efficiency. There is so little going on that it isn’t at all difficult to play.)

Fun Factor: 4 (So… bland… There is absolutely nothing fun in this deck. I’d hate to give this deck lower than a 4 just because I do occasionally enjoy reducing an opponent’s board by -3/-3 via Harsh Judgment and Shrike.)

Overall: 6 (Such an overly simplistic deck style. Its like they just lumped a bunch of cards together, slapped the words “location” and “lose affiliations” on them, and shipped them out. Yuck.)

Vs. System Affiliation Leaderboard
1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern)
2. Team Superman (Modern Age)
3. Fantastic Four (Modern)
4. Anti-Matter (Golden)
5. Squadron Supreme (Golden)

6. Arkham Inmates (Modern)
7. Teen Titans (Modern)
8. Outsiders (Modern)
9. Future Foes (Silver)

10. League of Assassins (Modern)
11. Emerald Enemies (Golden)

So, as you can see above, LoA has left a bland taste in my mouth. Not nasty like the Emerald Enemies, not lacking in spices like the Future Foes, just utter blandness. It’s even worse after writing up Team Superman last week and all its enjoyableness. It’s like someone gave me a piece of tofu right after I had a piece of steak. The blandness repulses me.

Anyways, next week is really up in the air as far as Vs. Resolution builds. I’m actually running out of the backlog I’ve built up! I’ve got two more decks to go and I’m all out of what I’ve built! What’s worse is that they’re both villainous DC Modern decks. I utterly hate following trends. So, look for one of those decks to go up here soon followed by something different with only a week of playtesting. I’m leaning towards Inhumans or Morlocks or something. Probably a Silver Age Marvel deck. Or maybe I’ll go Gold. X-Statix is calling me back :). Anyways, have a good one and check back on here often. I’ve got some new ideas for the blog and I’m sure there will be fun to be had in the coming weeks. I guarantee it.

5 Responses to “The Great Vs. Resolution #12: The League of Assassins”

  1. LoA are rather bland, aren’t they? I think that’s the perfect way to describe them, personally. :p

    Like really…what do they do? Replace a location…here’s an ATK pump…replace a location…stun a 3 drop…replace a location…recover my guy…yawn…

    Of course, it was still interesting to read about them. 🙂

    I vote Morlocks next (quick, while they’re still SA!). I like mixing their “move visible” theme with their “huge ATK” theme — with maxed out Sewer Systems, of course. It’s a blast to play (well, for me, anyways). Looking forward to the next resolution, whatever it is! 😀

  2. Number6 Says:

    About the most interesting thing about LoA is their ability to strip affiliations off of characters. Unfortunately, it’s pretty purposefully watered-down…can’t be done too easily, and detracts from the “strength” of the team since you’d have to pack plot twists instead of locations. I wish they had been designed for a bit more ruthlessness (stuns/KO’s), and I’m never happy with a team that lacks both range AND flight (Fortress notwithstanding). Well, they can’t all be winners I guess.

    Bring on the next one! 🙂

  3. This is not modern LOA. Unless things change,(my ride bails out on me) I’m posting it after the mega. I don’t want people to know how to play against it.

  4. kaleeshwarrior Says:

    Never said it was THE modern LoA build. That’s the best I could do with the limits of my Resolution (which probably need to be posted again, been a while since I last layed down the rules in my postings) and I found my deck to be really, really bland.

  5. […] Squad (Modern) 9. Teen Titans (Modern) 10. Outsiders (Modern) 11. Kree 12. Future Foes (Silver) 13. League of Assassins (Modern) 14. Emerald Enemies […]

Leave a Reply

