The Great Vs. Resolution Reborn #22: Manhunters

That’s it. I’m back on the wagon with a single goal: Complete my Resolution. There will likely be no jank decks posted on here while I’m shooting for this goal. I’ll be putting up roughly two articles a week which will get me done with the Resolution in the year required by the skin of my teeth.

There will also be a very small change to the rules of Resolution and that is that playtesting is no longer a requirement. There are certain decks you can look at and just go “Yeah, that’s how that one works”. That’ll also lighten my workload quite a bit since I can just build established decks and post my thoughts. Yes, it’s cheap but it’ll help me get this done.

Just as a reminder, here’s the list of decks I need to build by the end of the year:

The Great Vs. Resolution To-Do List

Marvel (18):
X-Men
Brotherhood
Doom
Sentinels
Skrull
Negative Zone
Spider-Friends
Marvel Knights
Crime Lords
Underworld
X-Statix
Avengers
Masters of Evil
Kang Council
Thunderbolts
Heralds of Galactus
SHIELD
Warbound

DC (13):
Darkseid’s Elite
Green Lantern
Manhunters
Justice League of America
Justice League International
Injustice Gang
Secret Society
JSA
Shadowpact
Villains United
Checkmate
Legionnaires
Birds of Prey

Total Decks Remaining: 31

Total Weeks Remaining:16

A few of those decks I’m going to purposefully avoid building for a short time, specifically X-Men and Brotherhood since MEV comes out soon and I want to see what support they get. However, pretty much everything else is fair game. Oh, and speaking of MEV, they don’t count for this Resolution because they’re entering the year so late. Yes, I know. It’s cheap. But I need to hedge my bets. If I turn out to have time to build them, I will. If not, then we’re sticking with the above list.

For those who need a refresher on the rules of the Resolution…

The Great Vs. Resolution Guidelines:

All characters must share a printed affiliation, at least 50% of non-character cards must be team or character-stamped, remaining cards must be from the same universe as the affiliation for the deck, deck must be in as recent of a format as possible.”

Off the top of my head, I know a few decks that will likely break those rules a bit but that’s not to big of a deal. Again, I want to get this done. I’m putting on blinders and just running forwards. Hopefully I’ll hit Juggernaut levels of speed and become unstoppable *fingers crossed*.

Enough babbling about that. It’s time to actually do this thing. This week’s deck is based around the Manhunters. I don’t know much about the Manhunters other than they were the “space police” previous to the Green Lanterns, went rogue, have a tendency to have sleeper agents, appear to have Borg-ish tendencies, and like to overwhelm the opponent with tons of robots. With that knowledge, here is my take on the Manhunters.

No Man Escapes

Manhunters

Golden Age

Characters:
6x Manhunter Sniper, Army
2x Manhunter Clone-Clone of Paul Krik

4x Kate Spencer <> Manhunter – Fearless Renegade

14x Manhunter Soldier, Army
3x Manhunter Engineer, Army

4x Sleeper Agent, Manhunter Sleeper
1x Manhunter Excavator, Army

1x Rocket Red, Manhunter Sleeper

Plot Twists:

4x Manhunter Science
4x Men of Steel
4x Qwardian Pincer
3x War Without End
3x Conscription
3x Return Of Donna Troy
1x There is No Escape

Locations:

3x Birthing Chamber

This deck technically breaks a rule of the Resolution in that the non-character cards that are stamped to Manhunters are less than the non-character cards that are not. However, three of those un-stamped cards are Birthing Chamber which has the Manhunters right there in the art so I figured I can get away with it.

Basic idea here is to swarm like there’s no tomorrow. Take even initiatives. If you can hit a Sniper on the first turn, you’re pretty good. If you can hit three one-drops in the first turn, you’re really good. So you should pretty much just mulligan for one-drops and maybe a three-drop. Turn 3 you’re going to want the Manhunter Soldier although the Engineer isn’t horrible.

The deck starts kicking after turn four. My absolute favorite play is: Pay 2 for Manhunter Soldier, Pay 2 for Manhunter Soldier, reveal Sleeper Agent. Maybe throw in an Engineer activation to drag out another Soldier from the row or reveal another Agent to put one out there. That totals up to 15 atk in recruits on turn 4.

Generally speaking, the deck simply doesn’t mind losing resources as long as you get four resource points and those resource you lose are to get another guy into play. Very rarely do I play my non-Sleeper Agent 4-or-higher-drops but they’re there just in case.

As support, you have Manhunter Science and Birthing Chamber for draw. Both are excellent cards. War Without End can recover your entire board which makes it fantabulous. Conscription can get you a free Manhunter Sniper which is always nice. There is No Escape is yet another way to get free recruits. Return of Donna Troy bounces KO’d guys back so you don’t have to worry as much about your hand. Finally, Qwardian Pincer and Men of Steel take advantage of the size of your board to try and get in some pumpage. I would really, really like to put Cover Fire in for Men of Steel but CF is Marvel and that makes it a no-no.

While I really like this deck, I have one big problem with it: It doesn’t do much. Oh, sure, it swarms like a bee nest after you hit it with a stick and insult the queen (highly unrecommended BTW) but there’s only so much you can do with a full board. In a team-up, you could easily use ridiculous cards like Plague of Frogs or Infestation to get pumpage from your board for the win but Manhunters don’t have any of that stamped to them which is very sad.

In all, this deck is cool but it just doesn’t do much. If you like seeing a giant board, though, then I highly recommend trying this deck out.

Manhunter (Golden) Ratings:

Deck Strength: 5 (So you have a board filled with Soldiers, Snipers, and Sleeper Agents. Now what are you going to do? The Manhunters just don’t have the power needed to take advantage of that massive board. Sad but true.)

Deck Theme: 8 (What the deck lacks in strength, it makes up for in theme. The Manhunters are all about swarming and being all sneaky. This deck is all about swarming and sneakily cheating army guys into play. Good stuff. Plus, despite its weakness, I like having a board of ten or eleven dudes ready to knock my opponent senseless.)

Ease of Use: 6.5 (You gotta know when to go down in resources, you gotta know how to manage your board, you gotta know when is the right time to hit a War Without End or any other card, and you have to figure out just what you’re going to do with that huge board. While not hard, this deck isn’t easy either.)

Fun Factor: 7 (Swarm is fun but doing nothing but swarming isn’t a massive amount of said fun.)

Overall: 6.5 (The deck is very cool but it just doesn’t seem to do all that much. It sorta sits there and makes an opponent flinch when looking at that huge swarm but it doesn’t manage to do much. I will say it certainly does give meaning to the version “army” though…)

Vs. System Affiliation Leaderboard
1. Marvel Defenders/The Hulk (Modern)
2. Team Superman (Modern Age)
3. Fantastic Four (Modern)
4. Anti-Matter (Golden)
5. Morlocks (Silver)
6. Squadron Supreme (Golden)

7. Arkham Inmates (Modern)
8. Secret Six (Silver)

9. Revenge Squad (Modern)

10. Teen Titans (Modern)
11. Outsiders (Modern)
12. Hellfire Club (Silver)

13. Inhumans (Silver)
14. Shi’ar (Modern: MWS Gem)
15. Kree (Silver)
16. Future Foes (Silver)

17. Manhunters (Golden)
18. Sinister Syndicate (Modern)

19. League of Assassins (Modern)

20. New Gods (Golden)
21. Emerald Enemies (Golden)

Manhunters slide into 17th position, nestled between my Curve Syndicate and Discard Future Foes. Sounds about right to me.

After typing this up, I must say that it’s great to be typing these things up again. I forgot just how much fun they can be. In fact, I might not even need 15 weeks to pull this off *cracks knuckles*. Up next will likely be either Negative Zone (with a bit of rules twisting to increase their capability) or Secret Society (No Twisting Required!). Then it’s a matter of at least building new decks and playtesting the fun ones. If I can keep my head straight (and my first semester of college remains as easy as it has been thus far), I should be able to complete this thing. Wish me luck.

7 Responses to “The Great Vs. Resolution Reborn #22: Manhunters”

  1. You can do it Kaleesh!

  2. It is awesome to have you back! Those Summer of Love articles at Lost Hemisphere only make me more excited for Vs. and I was just thinking I need more articles to read. More more MORE!

  3. Cool, good to see you back!

    I sent out an email about our other project earlier before seeing this…let me know if you need any time or assistance for either.

  4. great to see you resurrect this. good luck!

  5. overchill42 Says:

    My Manhunter swarms with Soldiers and Excavators. Agents only tend to come out on the kill turn.

    Ole and Epic Battle are both sweet pumps for this deck. Ole works on both O and D, and Epic Battle pumps *everyone.* With War Without End, stunbacks aren’t as big a deal as they might be.

  6. Great to have you back on the wagon!

  7. […] 13. Inhumans (Silver) 14. Shi’ar (Modern: MWS Gem) 15. Kree (Silver) 16. Future Foes (Silver) 17. Manhunters (Golden) 18. Sinister Syndicate (Modern) 19. League of Assassins (Modern) 20. Doom (Modern) 21. Skrull […]

Leave a Reply

